Orchestra Santa Monica

2018-2019 Season

OSM Orchestra Concerts (2018-2019 Season)

"Apotheosis of the Dance"

Roger Kalia, conductor
Dennis Kim and Sam Fischer, violins

Sunday, October 7, 2018 at 2:30 pm
Ann and Jerry Moss Theater

Jacobsen/Aghaei: Ascending Bird
Seyfried: Concerto for Two Violins and Orchestra (West Coast Premiere)
Symphony No.7

The opening concert of the season highlighted dance and rhythm, with three unique and varied works. Beethoven's magnificent Symphony No.7 was deemed by Richard Wagner to be "the apotheosis of the dance". The orchestra also performed the West Coast Premiere of Sheridan Seyfried's Concerto for Two Violins and Orchestra. Neo-romantic in style, it features a bluegrass inspired final movement. Colin Jacobsen and Siamak Aghaei's Ascending Bird, based on a traditional Persian folk melody, opened the concert.

"Folk Flourishes"

Roger Kalia, conductor
Sean Chen, piano

Sunday, February 17, 2019 at 2:30 pm
Ann and Jerry Moss Theater

Faure: Pavane
Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 21
Mozart: Symphony No. 31 ("Paris")
Milhaud: "Le Boeuf sur le Toit" ("The Ox on the Roof")

This concert consisted of works with folk influences from a variety of places. French composer Darius Milhaud's "Le Boeuf sur le Toit" merges Brazilian folk tunes, tangos and sambas in a unique and witty way. The orchestra also performed two works by Mozart: his Piano Concerto No.21 featuring rising star pianist Sean Chen, and Symphony No.31, "Paris". The concert opened with Faure's well-known "Pavane".

"Bohemian Rhapsodies"

Roger Kalia, conductor
Eric Byers, cello

Sunday, May 26, 2019 at 2:30 pm
Ann and Jerry Moss Theater

Kodaly: Dances of Galanta
Shostakovich: Cello Concerto No.1
Dvorak: Symphony No.8

The final concert of the season focused on the music of two composers of Eastern European descent: Zoltan Kodaly and Antonin Dvorak. Kodaly's Dances of Galanta is based on Hungarian folk dances, while Dvorak's Symphony No.8 has been called the most pastoral symphony through the use of Czech melodies. Masterful cellist Eric Byers performed Shostakovich's haunting and dramatic Cello Concerto No.1